R Y A N C H A R L E S

Trends in Magazine Cover Design

We are currently working on creating mastheads for a fictional magazine in my Typography class. Doing so has forced me to take a closer look at other magazine cover designs. I found a few that I wanted to critique.

Image

Details magazine is one of my favorites as far as design goes (well, and content too). I’ve included a few covers in this photo to show that they change the color of their masthead for each of their covers. I also want to point out the bleed of the text on the top. Some of the mastheads bleed right off the edge of the magazine, while some are slightly pushed down. I wonder if this was intentional, or just a printing flaw? The difference is so subtle that it’s difficult to tell. Either way, I think it’s successful in both formats.

Image

Just after posting this second photo of Esquire Magazine, I noticed that red and blue are popular colors for covers. I’m not against it, but why not switch it up a little bit? I’ve always been a big fan of crisp clean san serifs, but there’s something about Esquire’s scripty typeface that I find quite appealing.

Leave a Reply

